Running From (I Mean To) New Year’s Resolution!

Monday, December 30, 2013
9:57 PM

I am feeling almost ready to run! Give it about another week and a half and I’ll be running happily again! Call me “over cautious”, “safe”, or “paranoid”, I’m happy to wait a while than having injured myself too much and end up never running again. (*egasp* Let’s not talk of THAT nightmare.) I’m so happy I’ve scheduled me a 5k in April! Yeah, I feel like it’s waaaay too far away, but I’ll have time to relearn myself, listen to my body, enjoy running once more and work my way into a better time and pace!
I have learned a lot this year. I’ve learned that I am stronger than I think, and that God has always been there for me when I’ve felt alone or even useless. He’s opened doors for me when all I saw were the ones He had just closed. He taught me that moving on is important.
God has used running to teach me things, as well, I believe. He showed me that even as when you feel tired just before the end, if you give your all in either a race or life, you will come out happy and feel better about yourself. I never felt as good as other people might be, but I’ve learned that it’s not a race against others but myself, and if I run the race He has set before me, with all my heart and strength, I’ll be blessed in body, mind, and spirit.

…but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

– Phillippians 3:13b – 14.

I am forgetting the things behind me that weigh me down, and look forward for that prize. Not just a trophy, but a higher gift. Maybe it’s better health, maybe it’s just the happiness it rings me.
I tell my Mom that running is part physical, part mental, part spiritual. You have to be able to run, so train. You have to psych yourself into believing you can do more, that you aren’t tired. You have to be spiritual in the sense that you love running and that it touches your life. I believe with that recipe, I’ll go far.

Part physical, part mental, part spiritual = a good run.

So my goals for this upcoming year are:

1. To continue to enjoy running.

2. Run in a 10k.

3. Train and prepare for a “halfie”. (My little nickname for a half marathon.)

4. Be able to listen to my body better and run barefoot.

5. Inspire others.

Thank you to those who have followed me, though I am still new to blogging. Thanks to those who inspire me. Thanks for a miracle called “the run”.
Have a wonderfully happy New Year!

20131230-223422.jpg

20131230-223434.jpg

Leave a Reply

